World’s Fabulous Footballer : Cristiano Ronaldo

  |    February 1st, 2015   |   314

                     Varun Lau
Cristiano Ronaldo dos Santos Aveiro, known as Cristiano Ronaldo born on 5th February, 1985 won his third Ballon d’Or award.  In 2008, he won his first Ballon d’Or and FIFA World Player of the Year awards. He followed this up by winning the FIFA Ballon d’Or in2013 and 2014. He also won the 2013–14 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award. He is regarded as one of the greatest player in the history of modern football alongside rival Lionel Messi. With Manchester United and Real Madrid, Ronaldo has won three Premier Leagues, one La Liga, one FA Cup, two Football League Cups, two Copas del Rey, one FA Community Shield, one Supercopas de Espana, two UEFA Champions Leagues, one UEFA Super Cup and two FIFA Club World Cups. He became the world’s most expensive player when he moved from Manchester United to Real Madrid in 2009 in a transfer worth £80 million (€94 million/$132 million). His buyout clause is valued at €1 billion.
At the ceremony Cristiano Ronaldo said “I know how much hard work and effort goes into wining this award and that’s why I still get emotional no matter how many times I come here to receive it. Every season is a new challenge for me. That’s how I have to look at things if I am going to be successful. This Ballon d’Or caps a great season for me and it gives me tCristiano Ronaldohe motivation to start 2015 with the same ambition.”
Cristiano Ronaldo : Ever Greater height
Germany midfielder Nadine Kessler has claimed her first ever FIFA Women’s World Player of the year award. Germany coach Joachim Low and compatriot Ralf Kellermann, coach of Wolfsburg Ladies, have been named as FIFA World coaches of the year for Men’s and Women’s football, respectively. The winners were chosen by the coaches and captains of national teams as well as by international media representatives invited by FIFA and France Football. The entire electoral procedure was overseen and monitored by PricewaterhouseCoopers Switzerland (PwC). The FIFA Puskas Award for the best goal of the year was also presented after 3.3 million football fans cast their votes on, FIFA on Youtube and This award, which honours Frenec Pukas, the captain and star of the 1950s Hungary team, was won by Colombian midfielder James Rodriguez, who demonstrated perfect technique to give his side a 1-0 lead over Uruguay in the round of 16 at the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Previous Winners of Ballon d’Or Award

Year 1st 2nd 3rd
2010 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Andres Iniesta (Barcelona) Xavi (Barcelona)
2011 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Xavi (Barcelona)
2012 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Frank Ribery (Bayern Munich)
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)