Shyam Lal College willbe host 5th Hockey Tournament From 23rd February

  |    February 23rd, 2016   |   20

New Delhi (N4C Sports)-Shyam Lal College hosting 5th Padmashree Shyam Lal Memorial Invitational Hockey Tournament. This Tournament on Going From 23rd to 29th February, 2016. Its promoted to physical fitness, team spirit and competitiveness among the students of the College. Shyam Lal CollegeThe tournament will comprise of 7 Men Teams (Shyam Lal College, Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Khalsa College, Indian Institute of Technology, Shyam Lal College (Alumini), Moti Lal Nehru College (Evening), Kirori Mal College and Indira Gandhi Institute of Physical Education & Sports Sciences) and 04 Women Teams ( Jesus & Marry College, Vivekanand College, Shyama Prasad Mukherjee College & Indira Gandhi Institute of Physical Education & Sports Science ) on league- cum knock-out basis for Men and Round Robin league basis for Women. Special features of this edition of the tournament will be ‘Man of the Match’ award to be given in every match to motivate the young players. The winners and runners up of the previous edition were Shyam Lal College and Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Khalsa College in Men section and Jesus & Merry College and Vivekanand College in Women section respectively. The Opening Ceremony of this year tournament will be held on 23rd February at 10.30 A.M. in the College. Ceremony will be preside over by Treasurer, College Governing Body  K.C. Ganjwal and Director, Delhi University Sports Council, Dr. Anil Kalkal will be the Chief Guest while Vichitra Vir, IPS and former International player of Volleyball, Kiran Pal Rana will grace the occasion as Guest of Honor. The inaugural match of the tournament will be held between Shyam Lal College and Kirori Mal College.