Indian Men Hockey Team announced for Europe Tour

  |    July 28th, 2015   |   141

         Tour is scheduled from 31 July – 14 August 2015

New Delhi(N4C Sports)- Hockey India today announced the team for the Indian Men Hockey Team for the upcoming European Tour which is scheduled for 31 July – 14 August 2015. To be played in France and Spain the tour will witness India clashing against both the teams in 5 matches. During the Tour, India will play twice against France and thrice against Spain. The upcoming tour will be in preparation for the all important FIH Hockey World League Final to be held in India later this year.Indian-Hockey-Team

The 21 member squad was selected post the Preparatory Camp held in Shilaroo from 19 July 2015.

The team will be captained by the able and one of the most dreaded midfielder’s in the game of hockey- Sardar Singh and will be supported by the Wall of Indian Hockey– PR Sreejesh. The team is all set for the clash post their 4th position win in the recently concluded FIH Men’s Hockey World League Semi-Finals at Antwerp, Belgium.

India will play its first match on 3rd August 2015 against host team France at Le Touquet.

Speaking on the Tour, Roelant Oltmans, Director, High Performance and Indian Men Chief Coach said, “It’s a very important series for us as this will be a base for us to understand how do we perform and deliver as a unit and the grey areas to be improved before the FIH World League Finals. Basis the performance in December 2015, our next step is then the RIO Olympics 2016. Hence from here all tournaments are very important for us, as we have to keep working and growing as a team. We are not taking the upcoming series lightly as both teams are very competitive and playing against them will help better our tackle against the European style of hockey”.

List of players-

1.     PR Sreejesh
2.     Harjot Singh


3.     BirendraLakra
4.     Kothajit Singh
5.     VR Raghunath
6.     Jasjit Singh
7.     Rupinder Pal Singh
8.     Gurjinder Singh


9.     Sardar Singh
10.  Chinglensana Singh
11.  SK Uthappa
12.  Satbir Singh
13.  Danish Mujtaba
14.  Devinder Walmiki

15.  SV Sunil
16.  Ramandeep Singh
17.  Akashdeep Singh
18.  Mandeep Singh
19.  Talwinder Singh
20.  Lalit Upadhyay
21.  Mohd. Amir Khan