Elite Bowl 2015 : Elite Football League of India University

  |    March 1st, 2015   |   125

N4C Sports Desk

Elite Bowl 2015- Championship :- First time in India, select universities are competing in an All India Inter University American Football Championship. Going by the name of the ‘Elite Bowl 2015’, the tournament is being organized by the Elite Football League of India and Association of Indian Universities, along with hosts, Punjabi University, Patiala.

There are 16 teams participating in the first version of the tournament in India from all across the country.

The tournament is being played on grounds specially designed for American Football, complete with line-marking and goal posts. The sixteen teams have been divided into two divisions – Division I teams will play tackle football and Division II teams will play flag football.  Tackle football for the better teams in Division I will be played in full American Football protective gear, while flag football played by the Division II teams is devoid of the protective gear. The structure of the tournament begins with quarterfinals on the opening day, followed by semi-finals tomorrow and the final taking place on 2 March 2015.

Complete list of teams taking part in the Elite Bowl 2015 are as follows:

Division I teams:

  1. Bangalore University, Bangalore
  2. Osmania University, Hyderabad
  3. Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar
  4. Jain University, Bangalore
  5. M.D. University, Rohtak
  6. University of Madras, Chennai
  7. Punjabi University, Patiala
  8. Lovely Professional University, Phagwara

Division II teams:

  1. Auro University, Surat
  2. Gujarat University, Ahmedabad
  3. Dr. B.R. Ambedkar University, Agra
  4. Shiksha O Anusandhan University, Bhubhaneshwar
  5. Chandigarh University, Gharuan
  6. Jaipur National University
  7. JECRC University, Jaipur
  8. Poornima University, Jaipur