|    July 28th, 2015   |   204

Chennai(N4C Sports)-   After what could be described only as a neck-and-neck contest, defending champions Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) team emerged victorious in the finals of the 89th All India MCC Murugappa Hockey Tournament, beating past-title-holder Army XI, with a final score of 3-2, and retained the heard-earned title of the Champions of the 89th MCC Murugappa Hockey Tournament in Chennai .IOC Team 1

The match seemed to be a fight among equals right up to the half-time, after which the competition got hotter by the minute. The final few minutes saw frantic attempts by both teams to firm up their positions in the match. With the aplomb shown in the earlier matches too, the IOC skipper Deepak Thakur led the team from the front, finally guiding the team to victory.

As the winning team, Indian Oil Corporation takes home the prize money of Rs 5.00 lakhs, and the runner-up team Army XI receives Rs 2.50 lakhs. (This year’s tournament prize amount was increased from the earlier sums of Rs 2.50 lakhs and Rs 1.50 lakhs respectively).

In addition to the above team prizes, the following individual awards were also given away to the top performing players. Each of these players were given a high-end bicycle from TI Cycles, a holiday voucher from and a cash prize of Rs 10,000:-

Special prize Awarded to Team
Best Forward Deepak Thakur IOC
Best Midfielder Pradhan Somanna Karnataka Hockey
Best Goal keeper/ Defender Chandan Singh C A G
Most Promising Player of the tournament Vinay Anup Valmiki Mumbai Hockey
Man of the Match of the Finals Deepak Thakur IOC

RS Sokhi had officiated as the Tournament Director and was assisted by a team of outstation and local officials.

The Final match was a well-attended affair, with Mr. Arun Murugappan and Mr. MM Murugappan and others from the Murugappa Group. Office-bearers of the Madras Cricket Club, including Mr.Ajit Kumbhat, President, Mr. Srivatsan Subramaniam, Vice President, Mr. R Ramesh, Honorary Treasurer and Mr. Vijay Kumar, Organising Secretary, along with the others members of Madras Cricket Club, participated in the final tournament, which had the hockey aficionados cheering the teams from the stands.



Scorer Details 3– 2

Hamza Mujtaba (15m-FG) Pawal Lakra (4m-FG)
Deepak Thakur (48m-FG) Chandand Aind (65m-PC)
Dider Sing (55m-FG)